Should We Forgive the Narcissist?

Is it possible to actually forgive this abusive personality?

Colleen Sheehy Orme
4 min readOct 14, 2020
Photo by Ck Lacandazo from Pexels

Forgive the narcissist??!! I’m sure a few survivors of narcissistic abuse are shocked if not outraged. I get it. I’m right there with you. Especially since the narcissist in my life once refused to forgive me.

I remember sitting in the relationship counselor’s office in the infancy of our marital problems. My husband was angry because I told him I was lonely and dreamed of meeting someone who actually cared for me.

Our counselor said I was sharing my feelings.

My husband said I betrayed him.

Anger boiled within me. How dare this emotionally corrupt man who I had forgiven time and time again. Who made me cry until I had welts on my face. The nerve that simple words would bruise his fragile ego and leave me without a pardon.

The counselor looked at my then-husband and asked him if he was capable of forgiveness.

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com